Protecting Intersex, Genderqueer, and other non-binary persons' right to self identify


7/11/2017 - Join IGRP & Lambda Legal for "State of Nonbinary" National Community Call 5pm PT / 6pm MT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET. Sign up now to receive call in information by email 

6/26/2017 - The first non-binary IDs in the U.S. available in D.C. 6/27/2017 and in Oregon 7/3/2017. California will follow on 1/1/2019 if SB-179 passes. Details.

​5/27/2017 - IGRP members Star and Sara recognized in Buzzfeed article. Details.

​*Email info@IntersexRecognition.org for legal help with non-binary gender change* ​


Gender identity and gender presentation are components of "sex"-- along with other components like sex chromosomes, genitals, internal reproductive organs, hormones,  etc.--
It is gender identity that determines what a person's legal sex is. 

Goal: allow non-binary adults to self identify

Welcome!

Intersex & Genderqueer Recognition Project (IGRP) is the first, and leading, organization in the United States to address the rights of people to identify as non-binary on government issued documents.










Legal documents base identity on sex assigned at birth, or later transition, without the possibility that an individual may identify as neither male nor female, or both male and female. In the

human experience there exist a spectrum of potential genders and sexes!


IGRP's goal is to allow non-binary adults to self-identify as something other than male
or female on their driver’s license, passport, and other government issued identification.


How: Targeted litigationlegislation, and
collaboration
with other LGBTQI organizations!